HomeMutual Recognition Arrangements (MRA)

Mutual Recognition Arrangements (MRA)

Mutual Recognition refers to those activities associated with the signing of a document of arrangement between U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) and a foreign Customs Administration that provides the platform for the exchange of membership information and recognizes the compatibility of the respective supply chain security program.  The document, referred to as an “arrangement”, indicates that the security requirements or standards of the foreign industry partnership program, as well as its verification procedures, are the same or similar to those of the Customs Trade Partnership Against Terrorism (CTPAT) program.  Mutual Recognition Arrangements (MRA), therefore, are bilateral understandings between two Customs Administrations.

The essential concept of Mutual Recognition is that CTPAT and the foreign Customs Administration program have established a standard set of security requirements which allows one business partnership program to recognize the validation findings of the other program which benefits both Customs Administrations and the private sector participants.

The goal of Mutual Recognition is to link the various international industry partnership programs together to collaborate and create a unified and sustainable security posture that assists in securing and facilitating global cargo trade.  Mutual Recognition promotes end-to-end supply chain security based on program membership.

Current Status

As of September  2022, CBP has signed 16 MRA’s:

  • Brazil – September 2022 – Federative Republic of Brazil – Operador Econômico Autorizado (OEA) / Authorized Economic Operator (AEO)
  • Uruguay – July 2022 – National Customs Directorate of the Oriental Republic of Uruguay – Qualified Economic Operator
  • India – September 2021- Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC) – Authorized Economic Operator (AEO) Program
  • United Kingdom – January 2021- Her Majesty’s Revenue and Customs’ Authorized Economic Operator (AEO) Program
  • Peru – September 2018 – Authorized Economic Operator Program
  • Dominican Republic – December 2015 – Authorized Economic Operator Program – AEO
  • Singapore – December 2014 – Singapore Customs’ Secure Trade Partnership (STP) Program
  • Mexico – October 2014 – Mexico Tax Administration Service’s New Scheme of Certified Companies (NEEC) Program
  • Israel – June 2014 – Israel Tax Authority’s Authorized Economic Operator Program.
  • Taiwan – November 2012– Directorate General of Customs, Taiwan Ministry of Finance’s – Authorized Economic Operator Program*
  • European Union – May 2012 – European Union’s Authorized Economic Operator Program
  • Korea – June 2010 – Korean Customs Service’s Authorized Economic Operator Program
  • Japan – June 2009 – Japan Customs and Tariff Bureau’s Authorized Economic Operator Program
  • Jordan – June 2008 – Jordan Customs Department’s Golden List Program
  • Canada – June 2008 – Canada Border Services Agency’s Partners in Protection Program
  • New Zealand – June 2007 – New Zealand Customs Service’s Secure Export Scheme Program

*Note: This MRA is signed between the American Institute in Taiwan (AIT) and the Taipei Economic and Cultural Representative Office (TECRO) in the United States. CTPAT and Taiwan AEO are the designated parties responsible for implementing the MRA.

error: Alert: Content is protected !!